The End of Times

Ah, academic summer. Leeds IMC next week, then Thirteenth Century (England?) in Cambridge. Then months of summerness. And then the beginning of term again.

Come end of September, I’ll be entering the dreaded? coveted? scary? necessary? FOURTH YEAR of my PhD. Of course, to some, especially outside the UK, it’s ridiculous to even think that one could complete a PhD within three years. But here in the UK feelings are mixed, and to be honest, the absurdity of giving students funding for three years while expecting them to take four years to finish always gets me.

In any case, though, I do think that the past three years of research and drafting and thinking (which was the topic of my latest post, I believe) have put me in a place now where the fourth year will be quite satisfying in that it all seems to be coming together now… at least in my head. (Watch me jinx myself.)

So there’s that. Step by step, closer to finishing. There’s a light at the end of the tunnel, as they say.

Leave a comment